full agenda

DAY ONE: Thursday, 20 September 2018

08:00 – 08:50

Arrival, registration and welcome tea and coffee

08:50 – 08:55

Programme Director: Mr Kaizer Nyatsumba, CEO: SEIFSA

08:55 – 09:00

Welcome from Ms Zama Luthuli, Divisional Executive – Corporate Affairs: Industrial Development Corporation

09:00 – 09:20

Dr Mathews Phosa, Chairman Mathews Phosa & Associates (Pty) Ltd

09:25 – 10:55

Working Together to Improve South Africa’s
Sovereign Credit Rating

A realistic assessment of what South Africa Inc. – Government, Business and Labour – need to do to improve SA’s sovereign credit rating

Programme Director: Mr Bruce Whitfield

Ms Tanya Cohen, CEO: Business Unity South Africa (BUSA)
Mr Dennis George, General Secretary: The Federation of Unions of South Africa (FEDUSA)
Ms Ann Bernstein, Executive Director: Centre for Development & Enterprise (CDE)
Mr Gideon Du Plessis, General Secretary Solidarity
Mr Mondli Gungubele, Deputy Minister of Finance: Department of Treasury (tbc)
Mr Kuseni Dlamini, Chairman: Massmart

11:00 – 12:30

Public Corruption and Corporate Malfeasance in South Africa: What Needs To Be Done to End or Contain It?

A critical assessment of what needs to be done to end or contain corruption in the public and private sectors in South Africa

Programme Director: Ms Bridgette Mokoetle, IR, Legal Executive and Company Secretary: SEIFSA

Mr Pravin Gordhan, Minister of Public Enterprises (tbc)
Mr Wayne Duvenage, Executive Director: Organisation Undoing Tax Abuse
Mr Lawson Naidoo, Executive Secretary: Council for the Advancement of the South African Constitution (CASAC)

12:30 – 13:30


13:30 – 15:00

Six Years Since Its Adoption, How Much of The National Development Plan (NDP) Has Been Implemented and Is It Still Relevant?

A Critical Assessment of the National Development Plan
and the Fantastic Projects it Promised for South Africa
when it was adopted in 2012

Programme Director: Ms Zama Luthuli
Divisional Executive – Corporate Affairs: IDC

Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, Minister in the Presidency: South Africa
Ms Philippa Rodseth, CEO: Manufacturing Circle
Professor Patrick Bond, Professor, Wits School of Governance
Mr Kuseni Dlamini , Chairman Massmart (tbc)

15:00 – 16:30

The Continental Free Trade Area: How Much Progress Has Been Made to Date?

An assessment of progress made in the implementation of the Pan-African Continental Free Trade Area and the Likely Implications that it will have for Manufacturing in Southern Africa

Programme Director: Mr Siya Biniza, Director: Political Economy Southern Africa

Mr Wamkele Mene, Chief Director: Africa Multilateral Economic Relations, Department of Trade and Industries
Mr Duncan Bonnett, Director: Africa House
Ms Mbini Kutta, Trade and Investment Policy Consultant

16:30 – 16:45

Afternoon Tea/Coffee Break

16:45 – 18:15

Exploring and Leveraging The Link Between the Metals and Engineering Sector and the Mining, Construction and Auto Manufacturing Industries

An assessment of the nature of the symbiotic relationship
between the metals and engineering sector and its
competitiveness as a supplier to the mining, construction and
auto manufacturing industries

Programme Director: Ms Neo Bodibe, Managing Director: RB Africa

Dr Michael Ade, Chief Economist: SEIFSA
Mr Tafadzwa Chibanguza, Economist: Minerals Council South Africa
Mr Nico Vermeulen, Director: National Association of Automobile Manufacturers of South Africa (NAAMSA)
Mr Roy Mnisi, Executive Director: Master Builders South Africa

18:15 – 18:20


18:20 – 19:30

Cocktails and Networking Opportunity

DAY TWO: Friday, 21 September 2018

07:00 - 07:15

Arrival and welcome tea and coffee

07:15 - 08:45

Constraints to investing in the metals and engineering (M&E) sector and improving trade on the African continent

Attracting new investments, boosting exports competitiveness and increasing demand for M&E manufactured goods

Programme Director: Mr Lucio Trentini, Operations Director: SEIFSA

Dr Michael Ade, Chief Economist: SEIFSA
Mr Paolo Trinchero, CEO: Southern African Institute of Steel Construction (SAISC)
Mr Paul Mukasa, Senior Investment Officer: International Finance Corporation (IFC)
Mr Alph Ngapo, General Manager – Africa Overland: ArcelorMittal South Africa

08:45 - 10:15

How We Will Turn The Economy Around – The Main Political Parties Outline Their Plans For the Economy Ahead of the 2019 General Elections

An assessment of the main political parties’ plans to revive the South African economy after the 2019 General Elections

Programme Director: Mr Lukhona Mnguni
Political Analyst

Dr Zweli Mkhize, Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs
Mr Enoch Godongwana, Head: Economic Transformation Committee, ANC
Mr Geordin Hill-Lewis, Shadow Minister for Trade and Industry: Democratic Alliance

10:15 - 11:45

Radical Economic Transformation, the Black Industrialists Programme and the Metals and Engineering Sector

A critical assessment of what Radical Economic Transformation means for the metals and engineering sector and an assessment of the degree of transformation to date

Programme Director: Ms Nuraan Alli
Sales Manager: SEIFSA

Mr. Kganki Matabane, CEO: Black Business Council
Mr. Mkhululi Mlota, Chief Director Automotives: Department of Trade and Industry
Mr. Mazwi Tunyiswa, Head – Basic Metals & Mining: Industrial Development Corporation (IDC)
Mr Rajen Govender, Marketing Director: Weir Minerals Africa

11:45 - 13:00


Innovation and Excellence As Strategic Levers for Global Competitiveness
An assessment of how some innovation and excellence have enabled some local companies to maintain or gain domestic and international market share
Programme Director: Mr Pavlo Phitidis
Chief Executive Officer: Aurik Business Accelerator

Mr Mathys Wehmeyer , Managing Director: Hazleton Pump International
Mr Mervin Moodley, Managing Director: Atlantis Foundries
Dr Rachel Chikwamba, Executive: Industrial Development: Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)

13:00 - 14:00


14:00 - 15:15

The Manufacturing Circle’s “Map to a Million New Jobs in a Decade”: A Realistic Plan or An Empty Promise?

A critical review of the Manufacturing Circle’s Ambitious Plan to Create a Million Jobs in Manufacturing in a Decade

Programme Director: Mr Mark Lotter, Marketing Manager: SEIFSA

Ms Philippa Rodseth, CEO: Manufacturing Circle
Dr Michael Ade, Chief Economist: SEIFSA
Mr Johan Burger, CEO: Highveld Structural Mill
Mr Zeph Nhleko, Deputy Director- General: Department of Economic Development

15:15 - 16:45

Administered Prices (Logistics Costs, Electricity and Port Tariffs, etc.) As Factors Negatively Affecting South Africa’s International Competitiveness: Can We Change the Situation?

A search for solutions on how administered prices can be
better managed to make South Africa competitive as an
international exporter

Programme Director: Ms Nuraan Alli: Sales Manager: SEIFSA

Mr Phakamani Hadebe, Group Chief Executive: Eskom (tbc)
Mr Siyabonga Gama, CEO: Transnet
Mr Andrew Shaw, Director: PWC South Africa
Mr Mr James Lorimar, MP: Shadow Minister of Mining

16:45 - 17:00

Mr Mmusi Maimane, DA Leader
Register your seat today Register Now